Why you should update even your iPhone 3G with iOS 4

22 Jun

Apple flipped on the switch for iOS 4 for the iPhone 3GS, the iPhone 3G and the two recent versions of the iPod touch. The biggest draw of iOS 4 is it would finally allow some apps to run in the background and give users a taste of limited multi-tasking. However, it comes with a caveat: multi-tasking will only work on the iPhone 3GS and not the iPhone 3G. After playing with my iPhone 3G running iOS 4, here are some reasons why iOS 4 is a must update for all iPhone 3G owners.



The problem with having too many apps on your iPhone is that you end up with too many screens and finding an app becomes a pain. Yes, you can search for an app using Spotlight (the search page on the left of the homepage) but I never got myself to use that feature. Instead, I keep swiping one screen after another to get to the app I was looking for. With Folders in iOS 4, I have managed to fit all my apps in just three screens from about seven screens in the pre-iOS 4 state.



What I like the most about folders is how easy it is to create them – press the screen till the icons start jiggling and then start placing the apps that you want in one folder over each other. It will automatically give the folder a name based on the type of apps in the folder but you can customize it. This feature alone is more than enough to update your iPhone 3G to iOS 4.



There have been many iterations of predictive text input in cellphones and even the iPhone OS (or should I say iOS) has its own eccentric version, which worked for me but many friends keep complaining about.



But it is probably for the first time that I’m seeing an MS Word-like red underlining of suspect words. There is nothing special about the feature but it does make even something as basic as sending a text message super smart.



It does what it is supposed to do – underline suspect words – but what it should also do is give suggestions, which it does not at the moment (left for iOS 5 to do?).



Nevertheless, it does come in handy when you have to shoot a text message to a client or your boss and want to ensure that there are no typos in the copy. But I want more…



Like I mentioned earlier, I am not a big fan of Spotlight search feature. Let me rephrase that, I was not a big fan of Spotlight search feature. With iOS 4, I might just get hooked on to the feature.



Spotlight has been updated. Now it not only searches for apps or contacts but it also searches your text message inbox and gives you an option to search on the Web or do a Wikipedia search!



Then there are dozens of new features like digital zoom while clicking pictures, a unified mailbox with threaded e-mails, iBooks and many other features that I’m still trying out. Plus it seems that my iPhone 3G is a bit snappier than before or probably iOS 4 is simply ‘magical’ and I’m under its spell.



Trust me, once you have got a hang of iOS 4, it will be very difficult to go back to any older version. So what are you waiting for? Backup your iPhone, install iTunes 9.2 (if you haven’t already) and update your iPhone 3G today.



Watch out for our complete iOS 4 review coming up later in the day.

No Responses to “Why you should update even your iPhone 3G with iOS 4”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Why you should update even your iPhone 3G with iOS 4 -- Topsy.com - June 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ashish Bhatia, CellPassion. CellPassion said: Why you should update even your iPhone 3G with iOS 4 http://bit.ly/bSxqwg […]

Leave a Reply

