How to: Set up Google Sync on a Nokia S60 device

9 Dec

I use Google Sync to have my contacts synchronised across all the smartphones I use. At the moment, I’m using three – one on Windows Mobile 6.5, another on Android and then the N97 Mini, which I got from Nokia yesterday (I gave up my iPhone a month ago). Google Sync saves me the trouble of synchronising contacts from one phone to another and enables me to simply pop in my SIM card to any smartphone.

However, I have never been able to make it work with the new breed of Nokia phones that automatically syncronised my Gmail address as a mailbox, with no option to sync my contacts. Unitil today, that is.

The problem with the settings wizard on Nokia’s phones is that as soon as it sees a Gmail address, it proceeds to set up an e-mail account on its own, which is something that I don’t want. Today I learnt how to work around these automatic settings.

Open the Settings Wizard and enter your email address. But instead of yourname@gmail.com, just mention yourname@g.com (basically don’t mention gmail). The wizard will search for settings but won’t find one and will ask you to set it up manually. Select Mail For Exchange from the list you’ll get, enter your complete e-mail address (with @gmail.com), keep the Domain name black and add m.google.com in the server details. You can now opt to sync just your contacts or add tasks as well. And you are all set to go!

Leave a Reply

